Studyguide for Test
Studyguide for Test STC 388
Popular in Media Planning
Popular in Communication
This 5 page Study Guide was uploaded by Natalie Land on Thursday September 29, 2016. The Study Guide belongs to STC 388 at University of Miami taught by Dr. Lancaster in Fall 2016. Since its upload, it has received 19 views. For similar materials see Media Planning in Communication at University of Miami.
Reviews for Studyguide for Test
Report this Material
What is Karma?
Karma is the currency of StudySoup.
You can buy or earn more Karma at anytime and redeem it for class notes, study guides, flashcards, and more!
Date Created: 09/29/16
STC 388: Media Planning Basic media planning concepts o Sample media plan o Four insertions in each magazine o Four ads One ad each plus four different issues of publication Two magazines: four in each monthly period: four insertions Target audience equals US Adults o Cost per insertion: 357,000 dollars and 446,200 dollars o Readership levels: 4,496,00 and 18,505,00 If someone is reading the magazine what is the probability that they will pay attention to the advertisement: 48% Schedule: probability that people are exposed to those magazines Introduction and Overview: o Media planning: distribute messages with optimum efficiency to support communication goals Example: sale of products, maximize ability to deliver messages to target audience Timing and scheduling of message affect audience behavior You need to know what media usage habits your target audience has o General: communication equals media mix times messages Communication effects: accomplish something like sales exposure awareness Media mix: different vehicles (Volume) Messages: exposure probability o Operational: percentage of target audience that exhibits desired effect such as awareness or sales o Percent of target: audience exposed to vehicles you want to use times percent of audience exposed to messages within vehicle Target Audience o Group of audiences’ media target Possible descriptions Media: what they use Products they use Geographic Their annual incomes IE: Miami Hispanics Communication goals o Exposure awareness, recognition, recall, knowledge, interest o Typical media types Radio, tv, magazines, local news, papers, direct mail, cinema, internet, digital o Digital media: social media, text, web, email, apps o Evaluation criteria Time period, profound dimension The vehicle list Ratings Cost Insertions o Vehicle and message Frequency (exposure) distributions Reach n (where n-1 or 3) Gross rating points Gross impressions, average frequency Duplication: duplication among issues Little duplication: maximize reach Media Planning Concepts o People use magazine’s because Selective audience, good color, production, long lasting, has a pass a long audience, and you can have geographic editions where you issue specifically to major cities Media category vs Vehicle o The media category could be the magazine, etc o The vehicle is the specific publication in this case an example would be Glamour Message audience vs vehicle audience o You have to have a vehicle exposure first in order to be able to see the message o Those exposed to the message/ ad have to be exposed to the vehicle o Message audience: those who see a specific ad Smaller group than those exposed to the actual vehicle Example is print media Media category: magazine Vehicle: glamour Message: full page four color ad Sample magazine plan o Advertiser: DJI drones o Target: US adults 240,780,000 o Time Frame: January o Message: full page four color o Message exposure probability: 48% Vehicles: Sports Illustrated Time Frame o Period over which media plan is evaluated not quantified o Long time frames: monthly weekly, daily Vehicle Ratings o Percent of target audience exposed to the media vehicle o One rating point: one percent of target audience o Reach: total number or group of people exposed to media type o How to calculate vehicle rating (Readership/ target audience size) times 100 so for sports illustrated its (18,505,000/240,780,000) all of this times 100 o sentence usage According to GFK MRI (this is the source) approximately 7.69% of US Adults are exposed to an issue of Sports Illustrated GFK MRI estimates that 7.69% of US Adults are exposed to an issue of Sports Illustrated Advertising Cost o Expense of single ad we got for the product o One time cost but some weekly or monthly magazines have columns of monthly costs o Sentence usage Each full page four color ad in Sports Illustrated costs 446,200 Message vehicle Ratio o Probability that someone will see the message given the fact that they have seen the vehicle (the magazine) o Percent of target audience exposed to media vehicle who are also exposed to the advertisement o Sentence usage Approximately 48% of the US Adults who are exposed to the typical magazine in this issue are also exposed to the ad %f (Vehicle): percent exposed at that frequency %f (Message) : percent exposed to the advertisement at that frequency %f+ percent exposed at frequency plus 100 o add all the percent frequency + below 100 Frequency distributions o Show portion of target audience exposed to repetitions of vehicles or messages in plan o F ranges from 0 to 10 or 20 o %f shows percent of target exposed to vehicle or message at a frequency o sentence usage 64.5% of US Adults are not exposed to the magazines gross rating points: number of ads times rating How to calculate all the numbers from our Example Sheet What we know? o Time frame: January o Vehicle: Sports Illustrated and People Magazine o Population US Adults: 240,780,000 o Readership level for People is 41,496,000 and for Illustrated 18,505,000 o Advertising Media Evaluation: Is the media type so you put in Magazines for this example o Target is Adults 18+ (tells us this in the paragraph) o Target Size: 240,780,000 o Message/ Vehicle: 48% Now goes the Frequency Distribution Table which looks like this Do the same for message Vehicle column F (these columns you put %f %f+ how many ads, so in this case 1 insertion four different ads for two different magazines 0 1 2 3 4 5 Keep doing this math always add the ones here to get the right side 6 This is .8 This because we number had the other given to us number to the 1.8 so right-> and we whats found out then needed to add these three get 1.8 to get (.4+.6) = 1 so 1.8 -1 = . 8 7 Then you get 1.0 this # given to you .6 and you add .6 +.4 to get --- 8 This number As this one always same (.4) (.4) To get the Reach 1+ you always go to the distribution table and it is given to you but this is in percentage than it asks for Reach 1+ in 000s so you do o 35.5%/100 and X/240,780,000 (target size) so 240,780,000 *35.5 divided by 100 = the 000s answer o the same is done for Reach 3+ To solve for Message GRP we do o Ratings * ads= GRP o First we need to solve for rating so for rating its Reader’s/ Target Audience all of this times 100 For GRP we do Rating * Ads for Sports and this answer plus Ratings * Ads for people o For gross impressions we do GRP * Target Size for message and for vehicle you do it times the message/vehicle rating o Average frequency you get GRP/ Reach 1+ o Cost per thousand You need the ad cost and total cost Total total cost/ gross impressions for each one o Cost per rating point Total cost divided by GRP o Cost per net: Total cost/ reach 1+ o Cost per response Number of adults reached Total cost/ absolute number of adults reached which is Reach 1+ in thousands o Mix Total/ individual total all of this times 100 o CPM/MSG Message within vehicles Vehicle cost/ (rating/100* target in thousands* the % number divided by 100)
Are you sure you want to buy this material for
You're already Subscribed!
Looks like you've already subscribed to StudySoup, you won't need to purchase another subscription to get this material. To access this material simply click 'View Full Document'