CSU - Dominguez hills
Popular in Course
verified elite notetaker
Popular in Department
This 4 page Study Guide was uploaded by smartwriter Notetaker on Monday November 16, 2015. The Study Guide belongs to a course at a university taught by a professor in Fall. Since its upload, it has received 15 views.
Reviews for mat117_appendix_c
Report this Material
What is Karma?
Karma is the currency of StudySoup.
You can buy or earn more Karma at anytime and redeem it for class notes, study guides, flashcards, and more!
Date Created: 11/16/15
Axia College Material Appendix C Polynomials Retail companies must keep close track of their operations to maintain profitability. Often, the sales data of each individual product is analyzed separately, which can be used to help set pricing and other sales strategies. Application Practice Answer the following questions. Use Equation Editor to write mathematical expressions and equations. First, save this file to your hard drive by selecting Save As from the File menu. Click the white space below each question to maintain proper formatting. 1. In this problem, we analyze the profit found for sales of decorative tiles. A demand equation (sometimes called a demand curve) shows how much money people would pay for a product depending on how much of that product is available on the open market. Often, the demand equation is found empirically (through experiment, or market research). a. Suppose a market research company finds that at a price of p = $20, they would sell x = 42 tiles each month. If they lower the price to p = $10, then more people would purchase the tile, and they can expect to sell x = 52 tiles in a month’s time. Find the equation of the line for the demand equation. Write your answer in the form p = mx + b. Hint: Write an equation using two points in the form (x,p). p= 1x + 62 A company’s revenue is the amount of money that comes in from sales, before business costs are subtracted. For a single product, you can find the revenue by multiplying the quantity of the product sold, x, by the demand equation, p. b. Substitute the result you found from part a. into the equation R = xp to find the revenue equation. Provide your answer in simplified form. 2 R=x +62x The costs of doing business for a company can be found by adding fixed costs, such as rent, insurance, and wages, and variable costs, which are the costs to purchase the product you are selling. The portion of the company’s fixed costs allotted to this product is $300, and the supplier’s cost for a set of tile is $6 each. Let x represent the number of tile sets. c. If b represents a fixed cost, what value would represent b? B=$300 MAT/117 d. Find the cost equation for the tile. Write your answer in the form C = mx + b. C(x) =6x+300 The profit made from the sale of tiles is found by subtracting the costs from the revenue. e. Find the Profit Equation by substituting your equations for R and C in the equation P R C . Simplify the equation. 2 P=x +56x300 f. What is the profit made from selling 20 tile sets per month? P = x² + 56x 300 P = (20)² + 56(20) 300 P = 400 + 1120 300 P = 420 g. What is the profit made from selling 25 tile sets each month? P = x² + 56x 300 P = (25)² + 56(25) 300 P = 400 + 1120 300 P = 475 h. What is the profit made from selling no tile sets each month? Interpret your answer. P = x² + 56x 300 P = (0)² + 56(0) 300 P = 0 + 0 300 P = 300 Even if this company has no sales their fixed costs still remain which is $300. Therefore with no sales made the company goes further and further in the hole or into debt. i. Use trial and error to find the quantity of tile sets per month that yields the highest profit. 28 tile sets will be the maximum amount of profit. j. How much profit would you earn from the number you found in part i? P = x² + 56x 300 P = (28)² + 56(28) 300 P = 784 + 1568 300 P = 484 k. What price would you sell the tile sets at to realize this profit? Hint: Use the demand equation from part a. P= x+62 P= 28 + 62 P= 34 MAT/117 2. The break even values for a profit model are the values for which you earn $0 in profit. Use the equation you created in question one to solve P = 0, and find your break even values. X² + 56x 300 = 0 (x² 56x + 300) = 0 (x 50) (x 6) = 0 x = 50 or x = 6 3. In 2002, Home Depot’s sales amounted to $58,200,000,000. In 2006, its sales were $90,800,000,000. a. Write Home Depot’s 2002 sales and 2006 sales in scientific notation. 2002: 5.82*10 10 2006: 9.08*10 10 You can find the percent of growth in Home Depot’s sales from 2002 to 2006 by following these steps: Find the increase in sales from 2002 to 2006. Find what percent that increase is of the 2002 sales. b. What was the percent growth in Home Depot’s sales from 2002 to 2006? Do all your work by using scientific notation. 10 The increase of sales from 2002 to 2006 was 3.26 * 10 Now we divide that by their sales in 2002 to get the answer. 3.26*10 ÷ 5.28*10 = 6.17*10 = 61.7% 56.01% 1 The Home Depot, Inc. (2007, March 29). 2006 Annual Report. Retrieved from http://www6.homedepot.com/annualreport/index.html 4. A customer wants to make a teepee in his backyard for his children. He plans to use lengths of PVC plumbing pipe for the supports on the teepee, and he wants the teepee to be 12 feet across and 8 feet tall (see figure). How long should the pieces of PVC plumbing pipe be? MAT/117 The length of the PVC pipe will need to be 10 feet. How long is the PVC pipe? 8 feet 12 feet 40/40 POINTS MAT/117
Are you sure you want to buy this material for
You're already Subscribed!
Looks like you've already subscribed to StudySoup, you won't need to purchase another subscription to get this material. To access this material simply click 'View Full Document'