Popular in Management 361
Popular in Business, management
verified elite notetaker
This 19 page Class Notes was uploaded by Kimberly Scott on Tuesday January 19, 2016. The Class Notes belongs to MGT 361 at a university taught by Mr. Pendel in Spring 2016. Since its upload, it has received 1197 views.
Reviews for Marketing notes
Yes please! Looking forward to the next set!
Report this Material
What is Karma?
Karma is the currency of StudySoup.
You can buy or earn more Karma at anytime and redeem it for class notes, study guides, flashcards, and more!
Date Created: 01/19/16
1901. According to the text, one of the main reasons that IKEA has been able to grow rapidly without greater capital investments is that It carefully manages its costs 1902. In which of the following situations is the cross functional challenge likely to be the greatest? When the most change occurs 1903. Crossfunctional challenges are greatest A potential strategy involves a more significant change (vs. a minor change) 1904. Which of the following expenses involves the working capital a company needs for operation? 1905. A firm needs _____ to pay for shortterm expenses such as employee salaries, advertising, marketing research, inventory storing costs, and what the firm owes suppliers. Working capital 1906. Which of the following is associated with debt financing? Interest costs 1907. Which of the following statements is FALSE in regard to borrowing money? Borrowing money is usually less expensive than reinvesting cash generated from operations (internal financing) 1908. Which of the following observations concerning debt financing is NOT TRUE? 1909. Which of the following is the reason why an internally financed company selling its products at a lower price can earn more profit than a competitor who is operating on borrowed money? 1910. _____ looks at when money will be available. Cash flow statement 1911. In determining cash flow, managers often look at a company's Cash flow statement 1912. Any increase in profit contribution that a strategy generates, without increasing capital invested, Increases the firms ROI 1913. Which of the following statements is true? 1914. An automobile plant is capable of manufacturing 40 sport utility vehicles in 24 hours. This details the manufacturing plant's _____. 1 915. Which of the following statements is true regarding excess capacity? 1916. Excess capacity may exist because there is _____ demand for what a firm can produce or there's _____ competition. Little demand , too much 1917. The challenges of matching supply and demand often occur when a marketing plan calls for: expansion into many market areas all at once 1918. The problems of matching supply and demand occur less frequently when a marketing plan calls for: a regional rollout 1919. In serving individuals within target segments, _____ tries to get a competitive advantage by finding a lowcost way to give each customer more or better choices. Mass customization 1920. A widespread shift to mass customization has not occurred because firms found that 1921. Which of the following statements about mass customization is true? 1922. Starbucks ran a fullpage ad in THE WALL STREET JOURNAL proclaiming that its baristas can make more than 87,000 possible combinations of an espresso coffee drink. This is an example of: mass customization 1923. At Dell's Web site, a student can order a laptop computer with the exact memory capability and software that she wants, and have it shipped to her dorm room within 48 hours. This is an example of: Mass customization 1924. At the Comfort Inn Web site, a customer can create an account with his preferences for a smoking or nonsmoking room, the type of pillows he likes, early or late checkin and checkout, and his room location. The hotel keeps track of this information and uses it whenever this customer reserves a room in the future. This is an example of: 1925. Regarding marketing cost analysis: 1926. A major purpose of marketing cost analysis is to: get marketing managers and accountants to work together to allocate costs to products and consumers 1927. Marketing cost analysis starts with the assumption that: understanding profitability depends on being able to identify the specific costs of different services 1928. In marketing cost analysis, all of the following are considered natural accounts EXCEPT: 1929. As compared to natural accounts, FUNCTIONAL ACCOUNTS: show the purpose for which expenditures are made. Functional accounts are used in factories 1930. In marketing cost analysis, all of the following are considered functional accounts EXCEPT: 1931. Which of the following is an example of a FUNCTIONAL cost account? Milling, grinding, maintenance, etc. 1932. Regarding marketing cost analysis, which of the following statements is TRUE? 1933. A marketing manager who wants to calculate the cost of marketing several products to several target markets will probably have to: 1934. Marketing managers should insist that IT systems used be robust from a security standpoint. Which of the following is likely to be a reason for this requirement? 1935. Which of the following observations is true? 1936. Indirect distribution usually 1937. Which of the following is an example of a task transfer? 1938. What is the first step in marketing cost analysis? Reclassify all the dollar cost entries in the natural accounts into functional cost accounts. 1939. A major difference between functional accounts and natural accounts is that functional accounts 1940. An electronic goods manufacturer launched a promotional campaign which involved a flat twenty percent discount on all purchases made on the manufacturer's website. This campaign became very popular. However, the large number of simultaneous purchases on the website caused it to crash. Which of the following statements can definitely be concluded from this information? 1941. Working capital may be used to pay for: 1942. Which of the following would NOT be paid for using working capital? 1943. ____ refers to a share in the ownership of a company. 1944. Many universities have begun conducting a variety of academic and athletic summer camp programs for elementary school, middle school, and high school students. These programs utilize the space in classrooms, dormitories, and other facilities that would otherwise be unused during the summer months. In addition, the programs generate revenue for the universities and promote them to prospective students. These new opportunities are possible because during the summer, the universities have excess: 1945. Firms that use mass customization 1946. Which of the following is a part of the functional account category of a factory? 1947. Marketing cost analysis: 1948. If a firm has excess production capacity, it 1949. A virtual corporation: 1950. With the mass customization approach, a firm 2001. A marketdirected economic system implies that: 2002. Alia was satisfied with the old television that she had owned for years. But after watching a few shows on her friend's big, flat screen, HD television, she felt that she should buy a newer model for herself. Which of the following limitations of macromarketing effectiveness does this illustrate? That satisfaction depends on and is relative to ones level of aspiration or expectation. Less prosperous consumers begin to expect more when they see higher living standards of others. 2003. In a marketdirected system: 2004. The basic objective of the U.S. marketdirected economic system is to: 2005. Given the U.S. economy's basic objective, the best measure of the effectiveness of the U.S. macromarketing system is: 2006. Given the American economy's basic objective of meeting consumers' needs as THEY—the consumers—see them, it is sensible to evaluate our MACROmarketing system in terms of: 2007. Consumer satisfaction: depends on and is relative to the individual level of aspiration and expectation. 2008. When evaluating macromarketing: 2009. MACROmarketing: The study of how society distributes its g/s, considers the social impact of issues like advertising, pollution, and misused resources. Focused on needs and objectives of society as a whole. 2010. Satisfaction with a firm's marketing efforts can be roughly measured by 2011. A study revealed that when consumers are dissatisfied with a product or an individual business 2012. Marketing inefficiencies are due to all of the following reasons EXCEPT 2013. Which of the following does NOT support the idea that "MICROmarketing often DOES cost too much"? 2014. The reason that MICROmarketing costs too much in many firms is that: 2015. Provided that a product satisfies customer needs, advertising can: 2016. To meet the new competition, prices of the old products usually 2017. Monopolistic competition—which is typical in our market directed economy—is caused by: 2018. Advertising 2019. Regarding our MACROmarketing system: 2020. According to your text, critics of advertising 2021. A marketdirected economy 2022. A S.W.O.T. analysis 2023. A S.W.O.T. analysis can help a marketing manager: 2024. Ideally, the ingredients of a good marketing mix should: 2025. Which of the following area does not relate to "Place" in the Four Ps? 2026. Flexibility, geographic terms, and allowances are all related to 2027. In the development of a marketing plan, blending the marketing mix would not generally involve 2028. As a product moves through its product life cycle stages: 2029. Pioneer has developed a really new consumer electronics item—a heterogeneous shopping product with unique patented features. It probably should use a marketing mix of: 2030. A marketing plan will: 2031. A marketing plan that included sections on transportation requirements, inventory product handling requirements, and facility requirements would include those sections under the area of ___________. 2032. Which of the following is a demographic pattern that affects marketing strategy planning? 2033. As macromarketing systems improve worldwide: 2034. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the area of Demographic Patterns? 2035. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing planning strategy in the area of Business and Organizational Customers? 2036. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the Product area? 2037. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the area of Channels and Logistics? 2038. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the area of Sales Promotion? 2039. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the area of Mass Selling? 2040. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the Pricing area? 2041. Which of the following is NOT a trend affecting marketing strategy planning in the area of International Marketing? 2042. Which of the following is an unethical behavior on the part of a consumer? 2043. Regarding our MACROmarketing system, the text suggests that: 2044. A marketing manager should 2045. The monopolistic competition that is typical of the U.S. economy 2046. Marie Callender has developed a new brand of frozen dinners to compete with the wellestablished brands. It probably should use a marketing mix of: 2047. As consumers shift their support to firms that do meet their needs, 2048. The best way to improve the operation of our MACRO marketing system—given the current objectives of our society—is: to improve and expand the range of g/s available. Continue to add value and better satisfy customer needs. 2049. According to the text: 2050. Which of the 4Ps in the marketing mix is most directly related to the instructions that come with a new highdefinition television set? 2101. Misty Hancock is a sales rep for a computer producer. Her salary last year was $30,000, and she earned another $5,000 in sales commissions. She paid $6,000 in taxes, and spent $8,000 on food, housing, a car, and other "necessities." What is Misty's discretionary income? 2102. A young working couple earned $55,000 last year. They paid $16,000 in taxes and $20,000 in rent, food, insurance and other necessities. What was their discretionary income for the year? 2103. A young working couple earned $35,000 last year, and paid $10,000 in taxes. They spent $13,000 on rent, food, insurance, and other "necessities." What is their discretionary income? 2104. Keith McPherson earned $20,000 last year as a carpenter. He paid $6,000 for food, rent, medical expenses and other "necessities." There was little construction work in February, so he took a trip to the Caribbean and spent $4,000. What was Keith's discretionary income last year? 2105. As the owner of a women's clothing store, Caroline Lipscomb has an income of $75,000. She pays $30,000 per year in taxes and another $17,000 per year in grocery bills, house mortgage, and car payment. Last year she went to Italy and spent an additional $4,000. What was Caroline's discretionary income last year? 2106. A young working couple earned $50,000 last year. Of that, they paid $16,000 in taxes and $15,000 in rent, food, insurance and other necessities. Their discretionary income for the year was: 2107. As the owner of a Bluetooth specialties store, Alicia Fountainbleau has an income of $72,000. She pays $30,000 per year in taxes and another $22,000 per year in grocery bills, house mortgage, and car payment. Last year she spent an additional $4,000 on a twoweek vacation at a Club Med in Rio de Janeiro. What was Alicia's discretionary income last year? 2108. Bart Thunderheart has an annual income of $75,000 a year. He pays $25,000 in taxes, and spends another $15,000 on his home, car, food, and other "necessities." Last year, he decided to really enjoy his annual vacation, so he spent $5,000 to go skiing in Austria. What was Bart's discretionary income last year? 2109. Manuel Acala is a marketing analyst, but made only $28,000 last year because he was employed only part of the year. He paid $5,000 in taxes, and spent another $10,000 for food, housing, a car, and other "necessities." Manuel's discretionary income was: 2110. Kira Johannson's salary as a sales rep was reduced to $32,000 last year, but she earned an additional $10,000 in sales commissions. Her tax bill was $14,000 and bills covering other necessities such as food, housing, and transportation amounted to $11,000. Kira's discretionary income last year was: 2111. Alberto Romez earned $100,000 last year as a Mercedes sales rep. He paid $10,000 in taxes, and another $25,000 on food, housing and other necessities. Alberto's discretionary income was _________________. 2112. Wilson Alvaro graduated with a marketing degree almost a year ago. Like many of his friends, he took a job in sales and really enjoys it. A description of Wilson's job and those of some of his friends are noted below. Wilson Alvaro loves biking and has his dream job. He works for a wholesale company that sells mountain bikes for a manufacturer. He works with a small group of people who call on the buying offices for two large retail chains, Wal Mart and Toys R Us. The group includes a finance person and a production person, and they all work together to meet the specific needs of these two big accounts; for example, sometimes they recommend a model of bike that will be available from only that retailer's stores. However, Wilson's main job focuses on building relationships and solving customer problems. Only occasionally is he expected to try to persuade the retailers to buy more bikes. Amy Bowden sells life insurance. She calls on new parents and persuades them to buy insurance products. It is difficult for a manager to control Amy's work, but she has incentive to work hard because her job security and income depend on getting sales. She is a confident selfstarter, so she likes it that way. Ben Peterson works for a fashionable men's clothing store. He enjoys spending time with customers who come in, learning about their fashion needs, and helping them pick clothes that really work for them. While the store manager can easily observe and direct Ben's activities, the manager wants Ben to have the incentive to increase customer purchases and satisfaction. Emily Winters handles inside sales for a major industrial distributor. She deals with a regular set of established customers, most of whom know what they want. Emily talks to them on the phone and answers questions about products, delivery time, and pricing. She sometimes works with outside sales reps who visit customers and help introduce new products. Emily is the first person her customers call when there's a problem with a purchase, so she spends a lot of time dealing with customer problems. As an inside salesperson, Emily's work is easily supervised by a sales managerand she has little influence on how much her customers buy. Melissa Tran works for a company that sells paper products (like napkins, paper towels, and paper plates) primarily through small independent grocers. Most of the grocers are regular customers, but sometimes she makes cold calls to new grocery stores. Melissa's job is to develop goodwill and try to increase sales. For example, she often sets up special promotional displays in stores. Her compensation plan gives her income security, but she also can receive a bonus for sales growth in her territory. Charlie Riggs is a telemarketer for an Internet service provider. He calls people on a list provided by his firm and tries to sign them up for Internet service. Charlie relies heavily on a presentation he learned during his training. Charlie is very good at what he does and loves that the more success he has the more he earns. Melissa Tran's company wants to have enough salespeople to serve 1,000 accounts. An effective salesperson can call on each account 12 times a year and should average about two hours per sales call. Each salesperson works 40 hours a week and takes off two weeks for vacation each year. Salespeople spend half their time on travel and administration. How many salespeople does Melissa's company need? 2113. The quarterly operating statement for a firm gives the following information: Number of pieces manufactured: 100 Number of pieces sold: 100 Total cost of goods sold: $800 Average cost of single piece: $5 Net sales: $1,000 It can be inferred that the firm's gross margin is _____. 2114. A retailer pays a wholesaler $24.00 for an item and then sells it with a 25 percent markup. The retailer's selling price is: 2115. Blue Ridge Weavers wants to set its selling price on an item so that the retail list price will be $50—taking into account the usual markups of 10 percent at wholesale and 30 percent at retail. At what price should Blue Ridge Weavers sell the item? 2116. TopKnotch Mfg. Co. has a production cost of $280. It sells its product to a wholesaler for $400. The wholesaler then sells the item to retailers for $500 and the retailers sell the item for $1,000. Which of the following is true about this "markup chain?" 2117. A firm with a stockturn rate of 5 that sells products that cost it $150,000 per year is keeping an average of _____ worth of inventory. 2118. 200 units of a good were produced at a total cost of $4,000. Given that total fixed cost was equal to $1,800, the average total cost per unit will be equal to _____. 2119. A firm that is using marginal analysis to set prices finds that setting a price of $180 per unit would result in the sale of 6 units. The total variable cost of production is equal to $300 and total fixed cost is equal to $150. In this case, the firm's total revenue will be _____. 2120. Consider the following demand schedule for a product: As the quantity demanded/sold increases from 3 units to 4 units, what is the marginal revenue? 2121. Randy Todd, marketing manager for Sporting Products, Inc. (SPI), is thinking about how changes taking place among retailers in his channel might impact his strategy. SPI sells the products it produces through wholesalers and retailers. For example, SPI sells basketballs to Wholesale Supply for $8.00. Wholesale Supply uses a 20 percent markup and most of its "sport shop" retailer customers, like Robinson's Sporting Goods, use a 33 percent markup to arrive at the price they charge final consumers. However, one fast growing retail chain, Sports Depot, only uses a 20 percent markup for basketballs, even though it pays Wholesale Supply the same price as other retailers. Furthermore, Sports Depot occasionally lowers the price of basketballs and sells them at cost —to draw customers into its stores and stimulate sales of its pricey basketball shoes. Sports Depot is also using other pricing approaches that are different from the sports shops that usually handle SPI products. For example, Sports Depot prices all of its baseball gloves at $20, $40, or $60—with no prices in between. There are three big bins one for each price point. Todd is also curious about how Sports Depot's new strategy to increase sales of tennis balls will work out. The basic idea is to sell tennis balls in large quantities to nonprofit groups who resell the balls to raise money. For example, a service organization at a local college bought 2,000 tennis balls printed with the college logo. Sports Depot charged $.50 each for the tennis ballsplus a $500 onetime charge for the stamp to print the logo. The service group plans to resell the tennis balls for $2.50 each and contribute the profits to a shelter for the homeless. Todd is not certain if Sports Depot ideas will affect SPI's plans. For example, SPI is considering adding tennis racquets to the lines it produces. This would require a $500,000 addition to its factory as well as the purchase of new equipment that costs $1,000,000. The variable cost to produce a tennis racquet would be $20, but Todd thinks that SPI could sell the racquet at a wholesale price of $40 each. That would allow most retailers to add their normal markup and make a profit. However, if Sports Depot sells the racquet at a lower than normal price other retailers might decide to carry it. What is the service organization's average cost for the printed tennis balls it buys from Sports Depot? 2122. A firm generates a monthly profit of $160,000 dollars. If the 80/20 rule applies to this firm's products, which of the following statement is true? 2123. Wiz Bang Foods put together data to measure sales performance by region of the United States. The Southern region included 25% of the U.S. population and was expected to deliver a similar share of Wiz Bang Foods' sales. This region ended up delivering 30% of the company's overall sales. The performance index for the Southern region would be: 2124. Worldwide Applicance Co. put together data to measure sales performance by region of the United States. The Western region included 30% of the U.S. population and was expected to deliver a similar share of Worldwide's sales. This region ended up delivering 30% of the company's overall sales. The performance index for the Western region would be: 2125. Charter Communications uses the ordercall ratio to measure the performance of its salespeople. If, in the past year, a salesperson made $13 million in sales, called on 4,312 potential business customers (either by phone or in person), and got 1,216 orders, what was this sales rep's ordercall ratio (to the nearest whole number percent)? 2126. Dell uses the salesorder ratio to measure the performance of its salespeople. If, in the past year, a salesperson made $2 million in sales, called on 5,250 potential business customers (either by phone or in person), and got 3,124 orders, what was this sales rep's ordercall ratio (to the nearest whole number amount)? 2127. Capitol Enterprises uses the costsales ratio to measure the performance of its salespeople. If, in the past year, a salesperson made $800,000 in sales, had travel expenses of $23,000, and received a base salary of $40,000 plus $6,000 in commissions, what was this sales rep's costsales ratio (to the nearest whole number percent)? 2128. Premier Bank considers population an effective measure of sales potential for its safe deposit boxes. It has broken down the population of the U.S. by region and assigned 30 percent of the total population to the Northeastern region. If Premier has a planned sales goal of $2.5 million nationwide, and actual sales in the Northeastern region last year were $650,000, what was the Northeastern region's performance index (to the nearest whole number percent)? 2129. Department A in a company had sales of $60,000 in the year 2012. Variables costs of sales was $30,000 and variable selling expenses were $9,000. Fixed administrative expenses were $5000. What is the contribution margin?
Are you sure you want to buy this material for
You're already Subscribed!
Looks like you've already subscribed to StudySoup, you won't need to purchase another subscription to get this material. To access this material simply click 'View Full Document'